L. Doc Cassidy Award Recipients
Facebook Instagram

Sign up for email updates from Kentucky Association of Fairs & Horse Shows

Tickets & Deals
Home > KAFHS > Our Heritage > L. Doc Cassidy Award Recipients

L. Doc Cassidy Award Recipients

L. Doc Cassidy was general manager of the Kentucky State Fair in the late 1940s as the number of county fairs began to multiply across the Commonwealth. He realized the need to coordinate the work of those fairs and create a voice to encourage their growth and development.

In 1948, he called for a convention of fairs to be held in Louisville, leading to the formation of the Kentucky Association of Fairs and Horse Shows. Through the years, they've provided the training, coordination and voice of more than 100 fairs from across the state. The association has created classes at the World's Championship Horse Show and a high point award system for equine exhibitors and four different levels of pageantry to serve as a "state finalist" venue.

Cassidy went on to serve a term as president and 12 years as secretary-treasurer. Today, the association bestows an award in his name each year to a person contributing outstanding service and dedication to our association.

Past Recipients of the L. Doc Cassidy Award

1976 Harold Seibert*

1977 William F Taylor*

1978 Roy K Asbury*

1979 Grover Gilpin*

1980 Calvin M Shewmaker, Jr*

1981 Joe Claxon*

1982 William M Munford, Jr*

1983 LJ Turley*

1984 Clellan Moore*

1985 Robert Kalb*

1986 Bill Morgan*

1987 Larry Burcham

1988 Allen Siebert & Lindsey Harden*

1989 George Martin

1990 Walter R Milby*

1991 Joe Johnson*

1992 Jerry Johnson

1993 Robert Wilson*

1994 Royce Adams

1995 Harold Workman

1996 James L Stevens

1997 Embry Curry*

1998 Gib Gosser

1999 Jimmy C & Della Coffey

2000 Jack Thornton* & Charles Kachler*

2001 Terry & Melissa Chinn

2002 Beverly Burcham

2003 Larry Jaggers & Ruth Devine

2004 Tom Emerson* & Jamey McMillen

2005 John Schmidt* & Lyle Rexroat

2006 Denver “Jackie” Flowers

2007 Alvin “Al” Smith

2008 Linda Crace

2009 Wayne Hanks

2010 Terry Harvey

2011Truitt Clements

2012 Tom Olds

2013 Bill Asbury

2014 Dudley Hay and Marcie Fisher

2015 Patricia Parrish

2016 Howard Moore

2017 David Pace

2018 Mike Poynter

2019 Greg Thomas

2020 Bruce Jones

2021 Jimmy England

2022 Paula Hatfield

2023 Beth Odle

2024 Hershel Key

Back to
Tickets & Deals