William Taylor Service Award Recipients
Facebook Instagram

Sign up for email updates from Kentucky Association of Fairs & Horse Shows

Tickets & Deals
Home > KAFHS > Our Heritage > William Taylor Service Award Recipients

William Taylor Service Award Recipients

Bill Taylor’s name was synonymous with our association for nearly 50 years. Starting on a volunteer basis with the Green County Fair, he rose to be fair chairman and horse show chairman before taking on committee chairmanships at the state level. I n 1978, he was named as executive secretary of the KAFHS—a post he held for 24 years. He also worked 32 years as the awards chairman at the World’s Championship Horse Show.

Bill’s involvement went far beyond the fairgrounds. In his native Greensburg, he served 22 years as a city councilman and 12 years as mayor. In those roles, he also served on the state level, rising to the presidency of the Kentucky League of Cities. His experience as a veteran led to his role as head of the Kentucky VFW.

Bill was packing to attend yet another convention of KAFHS in early 2016 when he suffered a fatal heart attack. Needless to say, it was a somber convention that year.

The association members voted to create an annual award honoring a hometown fair individual who is also recognized as a leader in other civic matters.

Recipients of the Award Have Been:

2017 Gib Gosser, Pulaski County
2018 Greg Thomas, Adair County
2019 David Pace, Meade County
2021 Hershel Key, Clinton County
2022 Kevin Mobley, Hardin County
2023 William Wallace Evans, Taylor County

Back to
Tickets & Deals